NOTICE: Our Project Reality Demo / Tracker files are not getting uploaded here to the website.  We are working on the issue and expect it to be resolved within a few weeks.  The files are still being recorded, and will be provided to anyone including public players via direct request.  Send a message to (in order of availability) SemlerPDX, STARK, or m823us, with the date/time and map name, and we will provide you with the corresponding file.  Thank you all for your patience!

=VG= SemlerPDX

Image Editing with Transparency - How is this possible?

Awhile ago, I made a round website avatar combining part of the VG Globe Wings logo with an Elite Dangerous logo, heavy on transparency.  I'm still learning this stuff, but I never noticed a problem with the final image until I used it as an avatar on some elite dangerous tool website...  Picture is worth a thousand words:

Lo9ARGu.png

^How can this image get transformed into this mess that looks like it's still being worked on in PhotoShop by https://inara.cz/

97819x1714.jpg

...I suppose it means they don't allow transparent images on their website, or I've done something wrong way  back when I made this.  Either way, it's somehow recovered parts of the image I cropped out, that is part of the transparent area around the circle.  Very odd...

If anyone has any insight or ideas, let me know.  This is a head scratcher
New Round Logo2.psd (zipped)

• Like 1
  • Upvote 2

Transparency is determined by a greyscale layer (alpha layer) that sets the level of transparency. Color information still exists in fully transparent areas, and if the alpha layer is stripped away then these areas will end up showing.

The reason those parts were recovered is because you hid them using transparency rather than actual erasure.

• Like 2
  • Upvote 2

The difference is you cannot have transparency with jpegs, but .pngs and .gifs do enable you to have transparency which is why the first one looks good.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 2